Start For Free

Fast, Secure, and Always Accurate!

Back to List

Category: Rhode Island

Rhode Island Property Tax Relief Claim

If you are filing a Rhode Island income tax return and claiming a property tax relief credit, you will need to fill out the RI- 1040H information found within the Rhode Island state program. Your property tax relief credit will decrease any income tax due or increase any income tax refund.

Who May Qualify?

To qualify for the property tax relief credit you must meet all of the following conditions:

  1. You must have been a legal resident of Rhode Island for the entire calendar year
  2. Your household income must have been $30,000 or less
  3. You must have lived in a household or rented a dwelling that was subject to property taxes
  4. You must be current on property tax due on your homestead for all prior years and on any current installments

Who May Claim Credit?

If you meet all of the qualifications outlined above, you should complete Form RI-1040H within the Rhode Island state program to determine if you are entitled to a credit.

Only one person of a household may claim the credit.

The right to file a claim does not survive a person's death; therefore a claim filed on behalf of a deceased person cannot be allowed. If the claimant dies after having filed a timely claim, the amount thereof will be disbursed to another member of the household as determined by the Tax Administrator.

Limitations on Credit

Under provisions for RI Property Tax Relief, a claim for relief shall exclude all taxes or rent paid with public assistance funds. The amount of credit allowable under Chapter 44-33, Property Tax Relief Act, for calendar year 2013 is $300. In event that more than one person owns the residence, the taxes will be divided by the owner’s share.

For additional information pertaining to the Rhode Island Property Tax Relief Claim, please click here.