Who Is Playing In The TaxSlayer Bowl?

This year marks the debut of the College Football Playoff structure. No. 1-ranked Alabama will play No. 4 Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl and No. 2 Florida State will face-off No.3 Oregon in the Rose Bowl on the night of January 1 in semifinal games.

In addition to the debut of the College Football Playoff system, this marks the first year the conference assigned league schools to a “Pool of Six” bowls that include the Outback Bowl in Tampa, the TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville, the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl in Houston, the Belk Bowl in Charlotte and the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis.


The College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games (Allstate Sugar and Rose presented by Northwestern Mutual) and the Fiesta, Chick-fil-A Peach and Goodyear Cotton Bowls while the Capital One Orange Bowl announced its teams.

      • Capital One Orange Bowl: Mississippi State v. Georgia Tech

      • Chick-fil-a Peach Bowl: Ole Miss v. TCU

      • Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl: Missouri v Minnesota


After the above selections, the remaining teams were assigned to the “Pool of Six” bowls.

      • Outback Bowl: Auburn v. Wisconsin

      • TaxSlayer Bowl: Tennessee v Iowa

      • Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl: LUS v Notre Dame

      • AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl: Arkansas v Texas

      • Belk Bowl: Georgia v Louisville

      • AutoZone liberty Bowl: Texas A&M v West Virginia

Following the Pool of Six bowl, the Birmingham Bowl selected Florida and the Duck Commander Independence Bowl in Shreveport chose South Carolina from the SEC.



Related Posts