Start For Free

Fast, Secure, and Always Accurate!

Back to List

Category: Michigan

Michigan Special Exemptions

Within the TaxSlayer Michigan state program, Michigan allows its taxpayers to claim special exemptions should they qualify.


Deaf, Blind, or Disabled

You qualify for this exemption if you are deaf, blind, hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and permanently disabled. Deaf means the primary way you receive messages is through a sense other than hearing (lip reading or sign language). Blind means your better eye permanently has 20/200 vision or less with corrective lenses, or your peripheral field of vision is 20 degrees or less. Totally and permanently disabled means disabled as defined under Social Security Guidelines 42 USC 416. If you are age 66 or older, you may not claim an exemption as totally and permanently disabled. You may only claim one exemption per person in this category.


Qualified Disabled Veterans

A taxpayer may claim an exemption of $400 in addition to the taxpayer's other exemptions if:

* the taxpayer or spouse is a qualified disabled veteran, or

* a dependent of the taxpayer is a qualified disabled veteran.


To be eligible for the additional exemption an individual must be a veteran of the active military, naval, marine, coast guard, or air service who received an honorable or general discharge and has a disability incurred or aggravated in the line of duty as described in 38 USC 101(16). This additional exemption may not be claimed on more than one tax return.


For additional information. please see the state instructions.