Category: Health Coverage
Massachusetts Schedule HC
Health Care Information - The Massachusetts health care reform law requires most residents 18 and over with access to affordable health insurance to obtain it.
If you turned 18 during the Tax Year, the health care mandate applies to you beginning on the first day of the third month following your birthday.
For example, if your birthday is June 15, the mandate applies on September 1.
Part Year Residents
If you moved into Massachusetts during the Tax Year, the health care mandate applies to you beginning on the first day of the third month following the month you because a resident of Massachusetts.
For example, if you moved into Massachusetts on May 14, the mandate applies on August 1.
If you moved out of Massachusetts during the Tax Year, the health care mandate applies to you up until the last day of the last full month you were a resident.
For example, if you moved out of Massachusetts on July 10, the mandate applies up to June 30.
Note: Part-year residents are NOT required to file Schedule HC if they were residents of Massachusetts for less than three full months.
If a taxpayer dies during the Tax Year, the mandate to obtain and maintain health insurance applies to the deceased taxpayer up until the last day of the last full month the taxpayer was alive. For example, if a taxpayer dies on August 4, the mandate applies up to July 31.
Health Insurance Status
If you had health insurance in 2016, you must first determine if the insurance you had met the Minimum Creditable Coverage (MCC) requirements. Your Form MA 1099-HC sent to you by your insurer will give you this information. Almost all state and government sponsored insurance plans, such as MassHealth, Commonwealth Care, Commonwealth Care Bridge, Medicare and health coverage for U.S. Military, including Veterans Administration and Tri-Care, meet these requirements.
Note: Receiving services through the Health Safety Net Trust Fund (previously know as the Uncompensated Care Pool” or “Free Care Pool”) is not health insurance and does not meet MCC requirements.
Complete this section only if you (and/or your spouse if married filing jointly) were enrolled in a health insurance plan(s) that met Minimum Creditable Coverage requirements for part, but not all, of 2016 You are considered to have coverage for part of 2016 if you had coverage for at least 1 but less than 12 months. If you had coverage in any month for 14 days or less you do not count that month.
If you were enrolled in a private health insurance plan that met MCC requirements (such as coverage provided by your employer or purchased on your own) or government sponsored health insurance , fill in the information for the months you were covered in 2016. If you are filing Married Filing Joint return, please fill in information for both the Taxpayer and the Spouse.
If you did not receive for MA 1099-HC from your insurer, enter the name of your insurance carrier or administrator and your subscriber number. This information should be on your insurance card. If you do not know this information, contact your insurer.
If you had health insurance from more than one insurer, please select Additional Private Health Insurance Providers. **You can add up to two additional providers with the TaxSlayer program.
For additional information pertaining to the Massachusetts Schedule HC, please click here.