Arkansas Basic Information (Additional Personal Credits)
Per Arkansas law, each taxpayer and spouse is entitled to one personal tax credit (personal exemption). However, Arkansas does allow additional Personal Tax Credits if you can answer "Yes" to any of the following questions:
1. On January 1, 2016, were you or your spouse age 65 or over?
2. On December 31, 2016, were you deaf?
3. On December 31, 2016, were you blind?
Note: You CANNOT claim any of the above credits for your children or dependents.
Blindness is defined as being unable to tell light from darkness, having eyesight in the better eye not exceeding 20/200 with corrective lens, or having a field of vision limited to an angle of 20 degrees.
You can claim the Deaf Credit only if the average loss in speech frequencies (500 to 2000Hertz) in the better ear is 86 decibels, I.S.O., or worse.
Any taxpayer age 65 and over not claiming a retirement income exemption on Line 17 is eligible for an additional $26(per taxpayer) tax credit. Check the box(es) marked "65 Special" within your TaxSlayer Arkansas state return.
Arkansas also allows an additional personal tax credit if one or more of your dependents listed in your return had developmental disabilities. If so, TaxSlayer will multiply $500 by the number of dependents listed with developmental disabilities.
Note: DO NOT include the taxpayer or spouse for this particular personal tax credit.
Note: You must attach a certified AR1000RC5 to your return if this is the first year you claim the Credit for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities. A certified AR1000RC5 must be filed with your tax return every five (5) years. If credit was received on a prior year's return, do not file another AR1000RC5 until the Individual Tax Section notifies you.