If you live or earn income in one of the 43 states that charge income tax, you’ll probably need to file a state tax return around the same time that you submit your federal income tax return. Here’s a quick look at state tax filing requirements, plus how to do it for free with TaxSlayer.
Can I file my state taxes for free?
That depends. You can file a state tax return for free with TaxSlayer if you qualify for TaxSlayer’s Simply Free tax filing.
Simply Free is available to you as long as your taxable income is less than $100,000, you don’t claim dependents, your status is Single or Married Filing Jointly, and your income only comes from wages, salaries, tips, taxable interest of $1,500 or less and/or unemployment compensation. You must also claim the standard deduction.
If your tax situation is slightly more complex and you don’t meet the requirements for the free filing option, you can file your state and federal return with TaxSlayer’s Classic instead.
Do I have to file a state tax return?
If you live in Texas, Alaska, Florida, South Dakota, Nevada, Washington, or Wyoming, your state doesn’t have a filing requirement.
The other 43 charge state income tax, but the rates and filing requirements will be different for each one. Click on your state for more information about its specific tax laws.
Do you live in one state and work in another? Here’s what you need to know about filing your state taxes.
Can I file state taxes only, without federal?
Most states require that you attach a copy of your federal return with your state return, and TaxSlayer does not currently offer “state only” filing. This is because so much of the information that gets reported on a state return gets pulled from your federal return. The way our program works, you will enter your federal return information as though you are preparing a federal return. Once you are done with your federal return, you’ll add the appropriate state return(s) that you need to file within your account.