Who Is Playing in the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl?

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl

TaxSlayer’s partnership with the Gator Bowl began in 2011. The first TaxSlayer.com Gator Bowl was held in Jacksonville, Florida on Jan. 2, 2012. The partnership was extended in 2015, with TaxSlayer negotiating long-term conference and television agreements and gaining exclusive naming rights to the bowl.   

It was called the TaxSlayer Bowl for several years. But in honor of the Gator Bowl’s rich history, TaxSlayer decided to add “Gator” back into the name in 2018. Today, it is known nationwide as the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl.  

The game features a Southeastern Conference anchor team that faces a Big Ten Conference or Atlantic Coast Conference opponent. It is televised on ESPN every year. 

Below are the game results for all of the TaxSlayer-sponsored bowl games.  

Date Played Winning Team Losing Team Score 
Jan. 2, 2012 Florida Ohio State 24 – 17 
Jan. 1, 2013 Northwestern Mississippi State 34 – 20 
Jan. 1, 2014 Nebraska Georgia  24 – 19 
Jan. 2, 2015 Tennessee Iowa 45 – 28 
Jan. 2, 2016 Georgia Penn State 24 – 17 
Dec. 31, 2016 Georgia Tech Kentucky 33 – 18 
Dec. 30, 2017 Mississippi State Louisville 31 – 27 
Dec. 31, 2018 Texas A&M  NC State 52 – 13 
Jan. 2, 2020  TennesseeIndiana23 – 22
Jan. 2, 2021KentuckyNC State23 – 21
Dec. 31, 2021Wake ForestRutgers38 – 10
Dec. 30, 2022Notre DameSouth Carolina45 – 38

This article was last edited on 1/3/2023. See more TaxSlayer Gator Bowl information at taxslayergatorbowl.com.

This article is intended to provide general information to the public and does not provide personalized tax, investment, legal, or business advice. You should seek the assistance of a professional for advice on taxes, investments, and any other financial, legal, or business matter pertinent to your individual situation.

Related Posts